RSS

Let Go and Let God

14 Oct

tumblr_lzrok1E0uD1rn4pd2o1_500Admittedly, I didn’t set my expectations too high on Sunday.  The Lord is teaching me to set my mind on things above (Col. 3:2), but sometimes as a worship leader I still trudge into a service with a bad attitude and outlook based on what (I think) I know about people.  I knew many of our families were on vacation for fall break, and Alabama and Auburn both played terrible (I don’t follow sports much, but that’s an actual concern in Alabama; loyalties run deep and sports affects moods.)  My soloist asked to be rescheduled to another week, one praise team singer got sick and the other was called in to work.  All my plans seemed to get flipped upside-down at the last minute even though I had prayed and planned during the week.

Proverbs 16:9 “We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.”

I think sometimes God allows our plans to go awry just to make us trust Him even more.  We have to let go and let God be in control.  We have to step back and say, “Thy will be done” instead of “my will be done.”

In the end, the service went really well, the sermon was on point, and my faith was stronger on Monday than it was on Sunday morning because God is in control and we are not.  Which, I suppose, was the point He was trying to make.

When your plans are spinning out of control, do you tighten your grip on the wheel?  Just let go, move over, and say, “God, you drive.” (I know I could have quoted a Carrie Underwood song here, but I vehemently refuse to do so. We both know we’d be singing it for the rest of the night.)

rmr

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2014 in Ministry, Personal

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
